Lagos Assembly confirms 15 Sanwo-Olu’s Commissioner-nominees, rejects two


The Lagos State House of Assembly confirmed 15 of the second batch of 18 commissioner-nominees sent by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu on Thursday.

The Assembly also rejected two of the governor’s commissioner candidates.

The confirmation and rejection occurred when Mojeed Fatai, the Chief Whip and Chairman of the screening committee, presented a report on the exercise to the House.

The nominations of Olalere Odusote and Samuel Egube were rejected by MPs during a meeting presided over by House Speaker Mudashiru Obasa.

The House agreed to postpone Sule Akibu’s confirmation until another legislative day.

Obasa, commended the committee saying the members did a thorough job screening the nominees. His position was supported by the lawmakers present at plenary.

Those confirmed include:

Dr. Afolabi Abiodun Tajudeen
Mr. Oluwaseun Oriyomi Osiyemi
Prof. Akinola Emmanuel Abayomi
Dr. Oluwarotimi Omotola Wahab Fashola
Mrs. Folashade Kaosarat Ambrose-Medem
Mrs. Akinyemi Bankole Ajigbotafe
Mrs. Bolaji Cécilia Dada
Mrs. Barakat Akande Bakare
Mr. Olugbenga Omotosho
Mr. Mosopefoluwa George
Dr. Yekini Nurudeen Agbaje
Dr. Olumide Oluyinka
Mr. Abayomi Samson Oluyomi
Dr. Iyabode Oyeyemi Ayoola
Hon. Sola Shakirudeen Giwa