Buhari nominates New Auditor-General

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated Mr Adolphus Arhotomhenla Aghughu to become the new Auditor-General of the Federation pursuant to Section 86(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).

Mr Aghughu has been acting as the Auditor-General since the voluntary retirement of Mr Anthony Mkpe Ayine, from service upon attainment of the mandatory retirement age of 60 years on October 25, 2020.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on Legislative Matters (Senate), Mr Babajide Omoworare, made this known in a statement.

The Auditor-General designate hails from Edo State and holds a Master’s degree in Economics. He is a Fellow of the Association of National Accountants of Nigeria (ANAN), Member of the Nigerian Institute of Management and Associate member of Chartered Institute of Taxation.

He became an Auditor in the Office of the Auditor-General in 1992 and was promoted to the rank of Director of Audit in January 2016.

In a related development, the President has also nominated Mr Victor Chinemerem Muruako for appointment as Chairman for the Fiscal Responsibility Commission in accordance with the provision of section 5(3) of the Fiscal Responsibility Act 2007.

Mr Muruako, a legal practitioner, had served as the Secretary to the Fiscal Responsibility Commission and currently acts as the Chairman of the commission. He is from Imo State.

Both letters of nomination have been forwarded to the Senate President, Mr Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, for confirmation by the upper legislative arm of government.

Related Articles

Back to top button