2023: Governor, Minister pick APC presidential nomination forms

Groups of supporters have presented the All Progressives Congress’ nomination and expression of interest forms to Cross River State Governor, Ben Ayade and Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre Sylva.

The duo become the latest APC members who have had the N100m forms purchased on their behalf by supporters.

Governor Ayade had in late April declared to run for President, saying he has received approval from President Muhammadu Buhari.

Speaking in Abuja on Monday while accepting the forms, Ayade said he has governed Cross Rivers well and can do the same for the entire country.

Minister Sylva, on the other hand, is yet to publicly signal his intention to run for President.

The N100m cost of the APC presidential forms has attracted scrutiny from many Nigerians.

However, the relatively high cost has not slowed sales as the trend of supporters picking up the forms for their preferred candidates continue.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo is one of the high-profile candidates in the race who have purchased the forms.

Others include APC Chieftain, Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, and Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Godwin Emeliefe.

National Chairman of the APC, Abdullahi Adamu, has said the revenues garnered from the sale of forms will help the party campaign effectively after it eventually settles for a candidate.

Related Articles

Back to top button